Filing period for Canyon Lake City Council Election opens July 15

The nomination period for the offices of three members of the Canyon Lake City Council for a term of four years begins on July 15 and closes on August 9 at noon.

Council members with four-year terms expiring are Dale Welty, Mark Terry, and Jennifer Dain. There are no limits to the number of terms they can serve.

Anyone who is a United States citizen, 18 years of age or older, and a resident and registered voter of the City of Canyon Lake at the time nomination papers are issued may run for a seat on the city council.

The City of Canyon Lake is a General Law city governed by a five-member city council. City council members are non-partisan positions. Terms are staggered, so that two seats are voted on during one election cycle and three seats during the next cycle.

The city clerk serves as the Elections Officer and is responsible for the issuance and acceptance of nomination papers and is the official filing officer for campaign statements. The City of Canyon Lake consolidates its election activities with the County of Riverside, which provides voter registration, ballot materials, vote centers, and other critical election functions.  

The General Municipal Election will be held on November 5.

For nomination papers or more information, contact City Clerk Sheryl Garcia at 951-244-8547. To visit the city’s election page, click here.


Social Media

Explore More


Get The Latest Updates

Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter

No spam, notifications only about local news stories. 

On Key

Related Posts

EVMWD Director Jack Ferguson resigns

Elsinore Valley Municipal Water District (EVMWD) Director Jack Ferguson resigned during the July 11 meeting to focus on family matters. Fergunson’s resignation leaves a vacancy in District 4, which encompasses