Van Vleet, Doherty elected to Canyon Lake POA Board of Directors

Greg Doherty, left, and Bill Van Vleet were reelected to the Canyon Lake Property Owners Association Board of Directors. Photo by Canyon Lake Insider.

Canyon Lake homeowners reelected Bill Van Vleet and Greg Doherty to service on the 2024/2026 Property Owners Association Board of Directors.

The Annual Meeting of the Members and Election of Directors was adjourned on May 15 when a quorum was not met. One-third of the voting power (1,600 out of 4,800 ballots) was required to meet quorum.

A quorum was met at the adjourned meeting on May 17 (1200 ballots required, 1210 received). Van Vleet received 926 votes and Doherty received 805 votes.

The IRS Revenue Rule 70-604 passed with 1027 votes in favor and 74 votes against. IRS Revenue Tax Ruling 70-604 allows associations to avoid a tax consequence on any inadvertent excess member income that is applied to the following fiscal year assessment when filing a tax return Federal Form 1120.

Measure II passed with 964 in favor and 105 against. This bylaw amendment prevents the board from being unable to sell common areas without the approval of the Canyon Lake property owners.

Measure III passed with 679 in favor and 399 against. This bylaw amendment extends the terms for directors from two to four years.

Immediately following the announcement of the election results, the five directors voted by secret ballot to appoint board positions: Bill Van Vleet, president; Greg Doherty, vice president; Jeff Bill, treasurer; Joe Kamashian, secretary; and Alex Cook, director.


Social Media

Explore More


Get The Latest Updates

Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter

No spam, notifications only about local news stories. 

On Key

Related Posts